Does It Bother Anyone Else When…

…sportscasters – or anyone, really – says something is in the top six? Or four? Or basically any number that isn’t 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, or 50? I mean, if you’re saying something is in the top six, it’s number six. If it weren’t number six, you’d say it’s in the top five.

I can’t take full credit for this, because my dad mentioned it to me one day and it changed my life (not really). But it drives me nuts. There’s no real reason this is objectionable, I guess. It’s fun and easy to sort things into general categories, which is fine. I just twitch a little every time I hear a sportscaster say something like “the Broncos are in the top seven in rushing yards” and I immediately know they’re number seven. That’s all.

Rant over.

2 Responses to Does It Bother Anyone Else When…

  1. Keesup says:

    The only excpetion to this might be if there is some legitimate debate as to who is the best among a certain number of candidates.

  2. Special K says:

    That’s true. My problem with this practice should probably be limited to situations in which the speaker has time (or it’s their job) to think about it beforehand. I will tolerate this practice during impromptu debates and the like.

Leave a Reply

