True Story . . .

I meant to post this way earlier, like right after it happened, but anyway. At the Cards-Dodgers spring training game I attended last month, my stepdad and I sat next to a very friendly and knowledgable Dodgers fan.

I know, most Dodgers fans these days seem to define “casual” (you know, the ones who arrive late and leave early to avoid traffic, which admittedly sucks in California); but this guy’s love for the team goes way back, all the way to New York. I don’t remember his name so I’ll just call him Kirk.

This dude grew up in New York as a Brooklyn Dodgers fan, and as we chatted about the game we were watching and other baseball trivia, Kirk lamented that, except for his namesake’s unbelievable clutch home run and the amazing back-to-back-to-back-to-back comeback against the Padres in 2006, the Dodgers tend to be the butt of baseball’s historic moments.

Kirk may be exercising some selective memory, since the Dodgers were the class of the National League during America’s post-World War II heyday. But indeed, Dodger Dogs have had to watch in stumbling silence as the Yankees made everyone in baseball hate them, Ozzie Smith hit his only postseason home run, and of course, that one thing happened in 1951. Wait, what did the Giants win? Did they win the pennant? Or something?

Kirk was of course absolutely crushed following the Shot Heard ‘Round The World. The next summer Kirk was standing on a streetcorner in Southern Manhattan, when he noticed next to him a tall man in a straw hat. (Isn’t it weird what kind of random details the human brain chooses to retain?) The following dialogue ensued:

Kirk: Are you Bobby Thomson?

Bobby Thomson: Yes I am.

(beat)

Kirk: I hate you.

Exit Kirk.

The kicker of all this is that years later, Kirk heard Thomson speaking at a function in New Jersey, and he shared this anecdote with the audience.

Just a cool story I thought I’d share.

Also, I like linking to YouTube and Wikipedia. It soothes me.

Leave a Reply

