Score One For Bill Simmons

I was just looking at ESPN’s Bill Simmons’ NBA preview when I decided to add up all his predicted records and see if they equaled .500. Often – particularly in football previews – analysts predict each team’s record, and somehow it all adds up to the league playing .575 ball or something. So, I took five minutes out of my very busy Thanksgiving break to tally it up.

And guess what. The league’s record equaled .500. I feel sort of dirty complimenting a major sportswriter for, like, making sure that this mathematical inevitability exists in his predicted records. I mean, this is like telling your son you’re proud of him for not killing someone. Well, it’s not exactly like that, but you get my point. Anyway, kudos to Bill Simmons. I look forward to the day he screws up and I can hammer him mercilessly.

Also, a current headline on ESPN.com’s main page reads “[Mike] Tyson eats sloppy joes, reads mob epic in jail stay.”

Seriously? This is what we’re putting on the front page? This is one of the many reasons why ESPN is kind of a complete joke sometimes.

One Response to Score One For Bill Simmons

  1. Laura says:

    I completely agree. It’s like when Paris Hilton getting out of jail was on every news station. This is why the world is kind of a complete joke sometimes…

Leave a Reply

