Geometry Fail: Super Bowl Edition

It is my sincerest hope that I am not the only person out there to have noticed this. If I am not the only person, it means that people are about as intelligent as I have always hoped. If, on the other hand, I am one of the few that did notice this, then my opinion of humanity’s intellect shall plummet.

During the Super Bowl, NBC ran a commercial for its show “Chuck,” which will apparently be broadcast in 3D tomorrow night. Take a look for yourself:

This blog will now briefly become a mathematics blog, because it’s clear that the advertisers behind this commercial don’t understand math, and I’m pretty positive they read this blog religiously. 

A one-dimensional object is a line. A two-dimensional object is a plane; an x-axis and a y-axis. A three-dimensional object has length, height, and width – like a box. 

So, to the writers of the commercial who had the blonde exclaim “I said 3D, not 1D!”, I say fie on you. The “1D” versions of Chuck and his friend are not “1D,” because they are not lines.

Way to go, NBC.

4 Responses to Geometry Fail: Super Bowl Edition

  1. Keesup says:

    Hey, this isn’t about sports at all

    I’m trying to think of how the commercial could have conveyed them becoming lines, but it would just be easier for the show to not exist and therefore for the commercial to not exist either.

  2. Will says:

    I’m glad I wasn’t the only one… (They could have also been single points.)

  3. Judi says:

    Perhaps it is significant that the blonde made the statement.

  4. Kevin says:

    Here at Fan Interference, we try to avoid making the same sorts of generalizations for which we criticize the sports media. Such talk does nothing to usher the discussion to a higher level of objectivity and intelligence. Shame on you.

    You’re totally right that it’s significant.

Leave a Reply

