A Thank You & An Apology

I never thought I’d still be maintaining this blog over two years after its founding. My friend and I started Fan Interference that fateful day in college for three reasons: we were bored, we were cranky, and we had serious crushes on Fire Joe Morgan. It would appear that I am still bored, cranky, and enamored, because just over two years later, Fan Interference is still here. I mention all this because April 2009 saw the most hits of any month since the blog’s inception. Ever since the Lull of 2008, hits have been steadily increasing. I think it’s no coincidence that this has happened just when the quality of both the content and appearance improved. Ultimately, this is just a long-winded “thank you.” I’m grateful to the readers for supporting this site, however regularly. I’m grateful to a certain graphic designer in Florida for our awesome logo that has provided an increased feeling of legitimacy. I’m grateful to my Roosevelt Island traveling buddy for challenging me to write consistently and well about the things that interest me. Most of all, I’m grateful to broadcasters, columnists, players, general managers, coaches, scouts, and fans for providing endless material. I couldn’t have done it without you.

Now that that’s done, I want to apologize to Jorge Posada and you readers. On Monday, I wrote a fairly serious indictment of Posada’s effort and character. This came after he apparently failed to hustle to first base on a double play in an important situation. It turns out that Posada’s hamstring was bothering him, preventing him from running at maximum speed. This development means I was very wrong, and I should have withheld judgment until something like this could be ruled out. It just goes to show that no matter how smart or observant or right I think I am, there will always be information that, as a fan, I will never know. I think it’s important to issue such an apology in this space, particularly given the nature of this blog. I have spent lots of time ridiculing people for overreacting and not following up when more information becomes available. It appears that I am capable of the same folly as those I criticize.

That’s it for now. I hope you stick with me here at Fan Interference. I enjoy doing this a great deal, and as long as that’s the case, I don’t see myself stopping. At least not until Joe Morgan uses VORP in an argument. Then I’d have a bigger task before me, like preparing for the apocalypse.

One Response to A Thank You & An Apology

  1. avigailoren says:

    Is it embarrassing if I comment on this and say I love you? Is it less embarrassing if I say that I know what a bullpen is? And who Cy Young is! Go Gators.

Leave a Reply

