Unfortunate Word Order Department

Keesup here. I went to mlb.com last night to watch my game and was greeted by the following headline that I thought I should share:

"That is a disgusting act!" - Joe Buck, 2002

I know there have been similar incidents when reporting on Chien-Ming Wang, but this one seemed particularly amusing to me in its ability to dirty up Chamberlain’s unusual first name and, if reading the phrase as a whole, the transformation of the term into a transitive verb. How does one do that to an early lead? Jeter must know how. Also, I apparently took the screen grab right as the well-massaged lead was being relinquished.

Leave a Reply

