Gus Johnson Opens The NFL Season, In His Own Inimitable Style

At 4:06 PM, my phone began persistently vibrating. I opened it to find three separate text messages from three separate friends, all saying something like “please tell me you just saw that play in the Broncos game.” I was on my way crosstown to watch the Giants at a friend’s apartment, so I told them no, I did not see that play, but please explain what happened. One friend described the play in great detail. One didn’t respond. And one simply wrote “GUS JOHNSON OUTBURST.” A huge smile spread across my face. Here’s the play that elicited a vintage explosion from the greatest and most genuine broadcaster alive, Gus Johnson.

One Response to Gus Johnson Opens The NFL Season, In His Own Inimitable Style

  1. Francoeur Frank says:

    Hey bro I saw it live and I remember thinking, I know this voice from somewhere but… isn’t it the wrong time of year. I thought Gus Johnson stayed in hibernation until March when he unleashed his pent up excitement for a 13-3 upset.

Leave a Reply

