You’re A Good Man, Carsten Charles

By all accounts, Yankees starting pitcher C.C. Sabathia is a great guy and a wonderful teammate. So it comes as no surprise that, when discussing new center fielder Curtis Granderson, Sabathia said the following:

“Hopefully [Granderson] will hit like 50 homers. He’s going to be a great ballplayer for us. He was always a tough out for me.”

Because I’m me and I hate fun and anything complimentary towards anyone, I cross-checked Sabathia’s memory with baseball-reference.com. And, much to my delight, I have learned that Granderson is 3 for 19 lifetime (all singles) against Sabathia with no walks and seven strikeouts – a .158/.158/.158 line.

But hey, maybe each and every one of Granderson’s plate appearances against Sabathia lasted over 10 pitches.

Leave a Reply

