What Do I Do With The Heat?

I still don’t know what to do with the Heat. On one hand, I have significant animosity left over from the Knicks-Heat rivalry of the late 1990s, I hate the local indifference towards such a fascinating team, and I do think LeBron James was kind of a jerk to lay waste to Cleveland so publicly and heartlessly. Plus, that video is horrible.

On the other hand, I am tired of all the stupid things we are saying about the Heat. I hate that Bill Simmons wrote a column on October 29th that basically declares that this Heat experiment is doomed – based on what he saw in one live game three games into the season. I hate that he desperately looks for ways to take shots at LeBron and the Heat whenever he can. I hate that we’ve decided that Chris Bosh is a soft, no-good bum who is just tagging along for the ride, instead of an excellent player in his own right. I hate that Dwyane Wade, James, and Bosh decided to test the pre-eminent dogmas in professional athletics – the ideas that championships are what count, and that teamwork goes farther than selfishness – only to find that the rules suddenly changed on them. Apparently, working together to win as many championships as possible is no longer good enough. Now superstars have to do it on their own or else it is not legitimate. Apparently.

But most of all, I hate that there is so much reactionary stupidity surrounding the Heat that I feel compelled to defend them.

2 Responses to What Do I Do With The Heat?

  1. I don’t like the Heat and I don’t like that LeBron went there to collect his ring. That said I think there’s a real chance that they can dominate. Their supporting cast is actually better than decent. Haslem is a good big man off the bench and this guy James Jones is shooting over 50% from 3 point range and he’ll get tons of good looks at the basket considering how much attention will be paid to the big 3.

  2. Eytan says:

    “And he knows that he has to meet us halfway. He wants to work. We want to chill. But we’s going to have work to get everything down, and get our timing down, and get our chemistry down.”

    As much as I don’t want to hate the Heat. A key player saying that the team just wants to chill in practice is not a good sign. Its not a bad sign. At least he knows that they need to get their timing and the like down. Personally, I’m excited to see how the “experiment” works out.

Leave a Reply

