The Slow Death of Literacy, Pt. MMMMMDCLXXVIII

I will be posting something more substantial this afternoon, but in the meantime, I must share with you an amazing quote that my father shared with me earlier.

The culprit is Boston College’s basketball coach, Al Skinner. As most of us know by now, Boston College was upset by Harvard last night. This was particularly shocking because it was days after Boston College defeated uberteam and then-#1 North Carolina. Skinner, in his endless wisdom, knew this Harvard game was going to be a struggle:

“I tried to pre-warn them . . . We were capable of being this team and capable of being another team.”

My father summed this up more succinctly than I ever could have: “Aren’t all warnings ‘pre’? It’s not much of  a warning if it’s a ‘post-warning,’ is it?”

I also enjoy that he “tried” to “pre-warn” them. Did he fail? What does a failed “pre-warning” look like? A successful one? I have so many questions. All I know is that this term has absolutely made it into the derisive section of my daily lexicon.

You’ve been pre-warned.

One Response to The Slow Death of Literacy, Pt. MMMMMDCLXXVIII

  1. […] of Kevin at Fan Interference, we have BC basketball coach Al Skinner: “I tried to pre-warn them . . . We were capable of being […]

Leave a comment